

SCHOOL ADMISSION ARRANGEMENTS 2020/21

Shropshire Council is conducting a consultation exercise on school admission arrangements for community and voluntary controlled schools in Shropshire for 2020/21. The Council is simultaneously co-ordinating a consultation exercise for own admission authority schools whose governing bodies are responsible for setting their admission arrangements and who wish to make changes. We wish to notify all parents/carers that the consultation will begin on Wednesday 12 December 2018 for a period exceeding 6 weeks until Friday 25 January 2019.

The only change to Shropshire Council's arrangements is recommended by the DfE to introduce a high priority in oversubscription criteria to children who have been adopted from state care outside of England. The following own admission authority schools have also opted to follow the DfE's advice and are consulting on this change:

Barrow 1618 Primary School Baschurch CE Primary School Bishop's Castle Primary School Bitterley CE Primary School Burford CE Primary School Church Stretton School Claverley CE Primary School Clee Hill Community Academy Coleham Primary School Condover CE Primary School Crowmoor Primary School Grange Primary School Greenacres Primary School Greenfields Primary School Lacon Childe School Lakelands Academy

Longden CE Primary School Longlands Primary School Ludlow CE School **Ludlow Primary School** Market Drayton Infant & Nursery School Market Drayton Junior School Morville CE Primary School Mount Pleasant Primary School Oldbury wells School Prees CE Primary School Radbrook Primary School Shrewsbury Academy Sir John Talbot's Technology College St Edward's CE Primary School St Martin's School St. George's CE School, Clun

St. George's Junior School St. Mary's Bluecoat CE Primary School St. Peter's CE Primary School Stokesay Primary School Stottesdon CE Primary School The Community College The Corbet School The Grove School The Marches School Tilstock CE Primary & Nursery School Whixall CE Primary School Wilfred Owen School William Brookes School Woodfield Infant School Woodside Primary School Worfield Endowed CE Primary School

Other proposed changes are as follows:

Proposed <u>reductions</u> to PAN	School Type	Existing PAN	Proposed PAN	+/-
Alveley Primary School	Academy	17	15	-2
Bridgnorth Endowed School	Academy	174	120	-54
Church Stretton School	Academy	124	96	-28
Ludlow CE School	Academy	174	140	-34

- The Bishop Anthony Educational Trust is standardising the policy for all its schools: (Bishop's Castle Primary School, Bitterley CE Primary School, Burford CE Primary School, Condover CE Primary School, Ludlow Primary School, Morville CE Primary School, St Edward's CE Primary School Dorrington and St. George's CE School Clun).
- **Bridgnorth Endowed School** have proposed a closure of its sixth form.
- Coleham Primary School have added staff criteria.
- **Oldbury Wells School** have proposed an increased admission number of 50 for their sixth form and updated sixth form course requirements.
- St John's Catholic Primary School have proposed changes to their oversubscription criteria.
- Severn Bridges Academy Trust (Greenfields Primary School, Mount Pleasant Primary School and Radbrook Primary School) have added exceptional medical criteria to their policy.
- St Georges Junior School have added staff criteria.
- Woodside Primary School have prioritised applicants with a sibling in the out of area category.

The consultation documents containing further information can be found on the Shropshire Council website: www.shropshire.gov.uk/schooladmissions by following the link to the **Consultation on Admission Arrangements 2020**.

Responses can be e-mailed to school-admissions@shropshire.gov.uk or sent to School Admissions, Shropshire Council, Shirehall, Abbey Foregate, SHREWSBURY SY2 6ND_by Friday 25 January 2019.